Weekending

20140727-072239-26559392.jpg

res·tive [res-tiv] adjective
impatient of control, restraint, or delay, as persons; restless; uneasy.

This weekend I finally felt myself falling into the pace of summer break.
“Do we have a plan?” he asked.
“Nope!”  I replied.

There was sewing, reading, knitting, and taking time to smell the laundry as I took it off the line.  I tended my garden, ran a bit slower but also a bit longer, and took an extra yoga class.

I lingered, took my time, found places to pause and take deep, restorative breathes.  I am trying to stay away from the calendar and the date that will bring me back to work.  And when I read the definition of the prompt word for today, I make a quiet note to hold on to the summer-me and resist that restive, work-work-me.

Restive is the prompt for today – new prompts coming next week.

5 thoughts on “Weekending

Leave a Reply

