August 7 – muse

IMG_0956-0.JPG
When I was young, I wanted to be her. I would sit on the floor of her closet, dreaming of the day I would have beautiful dresses and matching shoes. She taught me to sew. She was kind to my friends. She took care of us and loved us and seemed to expect nothing in return. I never realized how much I was learning just by being near to her.
When I was a new mom, she was my greatest support. With words and actions, she made me believe I was doing a great job.
As the years passed, we became friends. We would talk on the phone, meet for coffee, catch a moment here and there. I trusted her and deep in my gut, I knew how much she loved me.
She doesn’t remember those days, those years. She doesn’t see me as her daughter. But she seems to know I am a person who will take care of her so we go off for a cup of coffee. We sit quietly with our cups. Conversation is too difficult. But she still inspires me. And I am so thankful for what I have learned from her.

Leave a Reply

