Sunday mornings

sermon journalI am going to be honest.  I am struggling with Sunday mornings.

We will be heading to church soon and I am in need of an attitude adjustment.  Things have not been rosy at church and I could easily stay away.  But I heard a speaker this summer who said that these are the times we most need to be with our church community.  So I am taking a cue from my daughter and will bring a journal along.  I am planning to write down the scripture and names of songs and to take notes during the sermon.  Perhaps I will find meaning.  Perhaps there will be something that makes me think.  Perhaps my heart will begin to soften.  I am going today with a blank page and an expectation that words will nudge my attitude in a new direction.  That is the power of words and writing.

Leave a Reply

