Breakfast

green-juice

 

When I was a girl, I usually ate cereal or toast for breakfast.  Pop Tarts and chocolate instant breakfast were a treat that arrived in my high school years.  On Sunday mornings, dad would make scrambled eggs.  The smell drifted under my door and I would climb deep under the bed-clothes.  I did not like eggs.

In college, I moved into an apartment and found that smelly things like eggs and canned tuna were very reasonably priced.  Suddenly they became staples in my diet.  But green things – no.  I just could not understand my friends who were choosing to become vegetarians.  When I would go home for family dinners, my mother shook her head as I pushed the peas and beans around on my plate without eating a bite.

If only mom could see me now.  My day begins with green – green juice, poached eggs on a bed of kale or broccoli, spinach, asparagus, edamame.  I love breakfast.

I have had wonderful breakfasts in cities from San Francisco to Edinburgh.  In Uganda we learned that the chickens are so poorly fed that the yolks do not turn yellow.  I settled for oatmeal and bananas.  I had a disappointing breakfast at a little, highly recommened cafe in New York city last summer.    But my favorite breakfast day is Sunday, when there is a bit more time before we leave the house.  I pull out my simple, white bowl and tops my greens with bacon, kimchee, and a perfectly poached egg.  And somehow, I don’t even notice the smell anymore.

Linking up today with Think Write Thursday.

3 thoughts on “Breakfast

  1. What a fantastic post! While I am not a fan of green shakes, I do so love greens topped with a poached egg and it is perfect for breakfast, lunch, or dinner! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Pop Tarts and Instant Breakfast were also the stuff of many of my breakfasts. My conversion to “all things green” is incomplete as chard tastes like weeds to me, but your greens, bacon, kimchee, and poached egg breakfast does sound appealing.

Leave a Reply

