No waste November

I try very hard to reuse and recycle.  A few years ago I started using glass jars for cook ahead lunches and snacks.  First it was soup, made in big batches and frozen in single serving sizes.  Lately I am using jars for every thing from snacks to yogurt to chicken salad.  At the end of October, I made a personal p,eadge to have a no waste November.  That works well for taking my lunch but then there are my daily stops for coffee.  I have grown fond of the call ahead orders at the big green coffee shop.  This month I am committing to taking my travel mug so no call ahead for me.  I had quite an internal argument this weekend.  I left my travel mug at home – should I make an exception?  Did I really need another cup of coffee?  I went back and forth h for a good hour while I ran errands.  My no waste pledge won out.  I made a cup of anti-inflammatory hot cocoa when I got home.  Seven days in and I have stayed true to my pledge – no throw away cups or bags.  Only 23 days to go.  Better wash some more jars.

4 thoughts on “No waste November

  1. I love this idea!! One question though, where do you put all the jars to store them? That is my issue – I have a tiny, tiny kitchen with very little storage space. Also, my other half is the antithesis of reuse – it is our most frequently visited debate.

  2. I do this too…though some of the containers I use are snapware (re-usable plastic ones). I also keep a mug, bowl and plate in a credenza by my desk so that I don’t have to use the throw-away plates, etc. that our office has.

Leave a Reply

