I used to make quilts

low-volume-quiltI actually still make quilts, at least I start quilts.  And I did finish one recently, the one for the tiny person.  I also used to make stuff with paper and glue, and I put photos in scrapbooks, and I dabbled with paints.  But I have been giving most of my paper and stamps away.
These days, knitting is my craft of choice.  I have been listening to Ann Hood’s collection of essays, Knitting Pearls.  Jane Hamilton writes about the choice between knitting and reading.  In another essay, the writer recalls the joy of knitting for her mother.  As I listened, I had a bit of a revelation.  During the school year, life is pretty hectic.  I just don’t have the energy to make a quilt.  And really, how many quilts does a family need?  I have exhausted the list of people who might want (or deserve) a handmade quilt.  But knitting is different.  We have a prayer shawl ministry and a couple of different groups that collect knitted hats and scarves for men, women, and children.  I can enjoy the process of knitting, try out new stitches, new methods for casting on or decreasing the crown, and best of all, so many different yarns. I used to make things with fabric, now I make things with yarn.  I suspect that I will be further reducing my fabric stash during Christmas break.  I could use that space to store my yarn!

5 thoughts on “I used to make quilts

  1. My favorite “hobbies” have shifted over the years, as my life and needs shift. It’s good to make those kind of adjustments — because different creative outlets will fill your soul at different times.

  2. I reached the same decision about quilts six years ago. I love making them, but no one in my family needs them. I now make quilts to be awarded to veterans (Quilts of Valor Foundation). I can sew and create and help others. You might enjoy doing that, too.

  3. My hobbies have likewise shifted. In the new year, I want to find a place in my day for a bit of daily stitching. I think I have figured out how to ease it in as well! Beautiful quilt also!

  4. I don’t quilt, but I do have a whole lot of fabric. I did weed out some about a year ago, but can’t give it all up. Still hoping/wanting to get back to sewing (clothes).

Leave a Reply

