circles and swatches


Yesterday I started putting my projects for #17ufosin2017.  I have plenty of choices but I am trying to focus on projects that I really want to finish.

These circle blocks were inspired by a 365 project.  I have not been successful beyond about 35 days when I have tried these 365 projects.  I did enjoy playing with these little blocks because I love appliqué and I love circles.  I have 62 blocks finished and another 45 cut and ready to stitch.  This is a great UFO.  I can chip away at it in the evenings and on weekends and it will make a very fun little quilt.

In the evening, I sat down to do some swatching.  I don’t do a lot of swatching because I mostly knit items where gauge doesn’t really matter.  But I know I will be much happier if I make gauge on a few upcoming projects.  I was able to get gauge for my RobRoy hat using a #7 needle.  I am planning to get this one cast on in the next few days.  Next up is another ball of orange yarn that has been lingering in my stash for a few years.  I bought this yarn to make the Annabel cardigan and I am determined that this sweater will get made in 2017.  I actually got to the separate for the sleeves stage on this sweater but realized it was going to be too tight.  I expect this will go fairly fast since the yarn if bulky and the needle is 10.5.  

I am hopeful that my UFO piles will get some well deserved attention in 2017.

6 thoughts on “circles and swatches

  1. Looking forward to making a Rob Roy hat along with you. I have my yarn picked out . . . but I’m not so sure about the pom-pom. I know they’re popular now, but . . . ummmmm. . . not so much with me. 🙂

  2. Finishing UFOs is a good idea. I’ve been successful in recent years to finish them before New Year’s Eve. This year I have some orphan quilt blocks that need a purpose; perhaps, I can do that before the ball drops.

Leave a Reply

