Monday in the kitchen – Carrot Ginger soup


I first tried Carrot-Ginger soup in a cooking class about five years ago.  The class was about healing and anti-inflammatory foods.  The soup was so simple!  It became my go-to soup for our soup making Sundays that winter.  When a friend was receiving cancer treatments, I gave her a big batch in one serving size jars.  Her stomach was constantly upset and she told me it was the one thing that she could always eat.  

Last fall, we went to hear about a new cookbook.  I was interested to hear how an Olympic runner fueled her body.  I was happy to see a recipe for Carrot-Ginger soup in the cookbook.  I am always looking for updates and tweaks to favorite recipes.  

This week I am easing back into meal planning.  It helps to have a Monday holiday to get set up.  I am cooking up some bone broth, a batch of chili, and getting a roast ready for the crock pot.  Lots of options for dinners and leftovers for lunches.  

The last six weeks have been very hectic for our family and knowing that dinner is planned and prepped has helped to keep me on track.  Cooking up a batch of soup and freezing in single serving jars gives me an easy option for lunch too.  I have created a simple weekly meal planner template that I am happy to share.  Let me know if ups would like a copy.

Here is a lovely version of carrot-ginger soup for you to try.

5 thoughts on “Monday in the kitchen – Carrot Ginger soup

  1. I love the advanced planning of meals – I used weekends to their fullest for meal prep when I worked out of the house full time. However, working from home for the past 5 years has given me cooking freedom – and I like that. I, however, wish that most days the conversations with Steve did not contain so much “what do you want for dinner” lol. I have “menu plans” in my brain – perhaps putting them to paper would help!

  2. I’m a weekly-meal-planner myself . . . although the holidays always get me WAY off track with my planning. I, too, am looking forward to getting back to my regular meal-planning habits starting this week! I’ve never tried carrot-ginger soup — so maybe it’s time to rectify that! XO

  3. We are big fans of carrot and ginger here too – ‘grateful to the stomach’ as the Elizabethans used to say. Your linked recipe has a nice twist – I might try this tomorrow.

  4. thank you for all the links! we are going to hit reality next week when Katie goes back to work and the boys are here for two days 🙂 I’d love to know how you “slow cooker-ize” that pork loin. I have a 3-ish pound roast in the freezer (thanks to Costco) and I’ve always thawed/roasted in the oven. … love all the ideas that get shared here – thank you!!

Leave a Reply

