Hello Friday


Instead of sharing some fiber happenings, I have a few thoughts on books and bookstores and the good people in our lives.

I was searching my library site for books of knitting stories recently and came upon this sweet book about a little girl and a woman who knits hats.  I hope we all have someone like this in our lives, that person who teaches us the importance of caring for others.  Perhaps it is you.  After reading this book, I decided that my shawl will need to wait a few more days to be restarted.  I have two hats that are nearly finished and I want to get them off to the goood people at Knitting4peace by the end of the month.

When our family travels, we look for local bookstores.  I was disappointed when we could not find a bookstore in New Orleans last year but I know I will find plenty when I travel to the U.K. this summer.  Wouldn’t it be lovely to travel across the country with bookstores as our destination?  And coffee shops of course.  One bookstore on my list would be Parnassus Books in Nashville.  Ann Patchett is one of the owners and I have heard her speak of the wonderful staff and events at this store.  I read a great post on the Parnassus blog that I would recommend.  We have fewer and fewer local bookstores every year.  In Seattle, we have author events weekly, and most are in partnership with one of our local stores.  Next week I will go to hear Helen Macdonald speak.  Maybe it is all the rain that makes this such a book friendly part of the country.  I am always thankful for the abundance of bookish events I find in the newspaper each week.

The weekend is almost here.  I have this Friday off work and I will treasure every minute of this day.