Fiber Friday – knitting as meditation


I used to go to a sitting meditation class on Saturday mornings.  Week after week I would practice stillness, breathing, calm.   After about 15 minutes, the calm was interrupted with that weird buzzing that you get when your feet fall asleep.  I learned a lot of techniques for propping my ankles and using a blanket to wrap around my feet.  Slowly, the number of minutes extended.  As much as I enjoyed the idea of meditation, I came to realize that there were other yoga classes that I preferred.

When I returned to knitting, I tried to knit socks and then sweaters.  I have set aside the idea of knitting socks.  I still want to finish a sweater.  But hat knitting is my happy place.  I always have a hat on the needles.  A few years ago I tried to knit 52 hats in a year and came pretty close with 48.  Last month I started the year by knitting a pink hat for my sister to wear in the March in D.C. and I mailed a nice, fat envelope with 7 hats to Knitting4peace.  Last night I cast on this sweet little dots hat from Tin Can Knits for our tiny person – who is not quite so tiny anymore.  As I worked on that hat, I could feel the stress melt away.  Yup, this is the kind of meditation calm I need right now.  

