Monday in the Kitchen – forbidden fruit


Last week we had so much snow that the power went out, we missed two days of school, and I didn’t get a Mondays in the Kitchen post written.  

Last week I also cut into my first grapefruit in a very long time.  I grew up in Arizona.  My grandparents had citrus trees and we ate a lot of oranges and grapefruit.  When we got married, I received a set of grapefruit spoons and I still have them.  At some point, there were medications prescribed and the label read – Do not eat grapefruit when taking.  Then I was told to be cautious with orange juice, too much sugar.  Heavy sigh.  

I have behaved and kept away from the forbidden fruit.  But in the last few months, I have begun to think about quality of life issues.  Watching my dad’s list of cannots grow and grow while his list of cans is shrinking has made me rethink these food rules.  I am not going to go nuts.  And I won’t be messing with those food items that will make me sick.  But I savored that grapefruit.  And I squeezed an orange to add to my green drink yesterday.  And it was good.  Sometimes selfcare looks like not following the rules.

******edited to add that I am not advocating ignoring medication warnings – I did some research and found that I can consume grapefruit, just not every day and not as a beverage for taking this particular med********

9 thoughts on “Monday in the Kitchen – forbidden fruit

  1. My husband also take medication that says to be cautious about grapefruit. He does have it occasionally, though, and his liver is just fine. It’s a good treat!

  2. oh how I too have missed grapefruit and also because of medication. I’m going to check to see if maybe I could have the occasional one.

  3. YES! this post makes me happy, too – I’m a firm believer in moderation in everything and in making our own informed decisions. (and it would be a shame to let those grapefruit spoons just sit unused in the drawer)

  4. I hear you – I love pink grapefruit, and still have it as a treat every now and then. Sometimes I think I enjoy it even more since I don’t have it that often …

  5. I think about what I eat and how it will help me be healthy (or unhealthy…). I like the idea of everything in moderation. I want to have a long long list of “cans” over the “cannots”.

Leave a Reply

