Yarn and books: small stuff


My knitting and my reading are moving in a small direction this week.  I have been able to spend some extended time with our tiny person which has been so wonderful.  I am getting to know him, figuring out the different cries, noticing what helps and what does not (very important).  I have to say that I am not anxious about his fleeting moments of distress the way I was when our own daughter was tiny.  I guess that is one of the reasons why everyone says it is so much fun to be a grandparent.

The other night, I knew we had a short time before mom and dad would arrive, not enough time for a bottle or another nap but we needed a distraction.  I pulled out this fun book and we spent ten minutes reading and looking at the pages.  He was so engaged!  I only wish I could have seen his little face.  

On my needles this week are some tiny knits too.  I finished a baby hat last weekend and immediately cast on another one with these small bits of yarn.  Yesterday I purchased the new patterns from Tin Can Knits and cast on a small sleeve.  I don’t often knit with dpns but I am off to a good beginning.  

I have bigger knitting projects and an ever growing pile of books but for this week, I am treasuring the small stuff.  Visit Ginny and Karen for more yarn and book inspiration.

