Yarn and books: small stuff


My knitting and my reading are moving in a small direction this week.  I have been able to spend some extended time with our tiny person which has been so wonderful.  I am getting to know him, figuring out the different cries, noticing what helps and what does not (very important).  I have to say that I am not anxious about his fleeting moments of distress the way I was when our own daughter was tiny.  I guess that is one of the reasons why everyone says it is so much fun to be a grandparent.

The other night, I knew we had a short time before mom and dad would arrive, not enough time for a bottle or another nap but we needed a distraction.  I pulled out this fun book and we spent ten minutes reading and looking at the pages.  He was so engaged!  I only wish I could have seen his little face.  

On my needles this week are some tiny knits too.  I finished a baby hat last weekend and immediately cast on another one with these small bits of yarn.  Yesterday I purchased the new patterns from Tin Can Knits and cast on a small sleeve.  I don’t often knit with dpns but I am off to a good beginning.  

I have bigger knitting projects and an ever growing pile of books but for this week, I am treasuring the small stuff.  Visit Ginny and Karen for more yarn and book inspiration.

7 thoughts on “Yarn and books: small stuff

  1. I’m completely smitten with the new TCK collection – great designs and so many sizes. I love the idea of matching sweaters for the boys for next fall. You already know reading to the boys is one of our very favorite activities. Even the books we read over and over delight us both every single time we read them (well, maybe except for a few of the Dr Seuss which get my tongue all twisted up 😉

Leave a Reply

