Think Write Thursday – just do it


The Think Write Thursday prompt for February 16, 2017 is to write about something you’ve been putting off doing. We all have those tasks, projects, phone calls and more that we find excuses to avoid. What are you procrastinating about? And why? And, finally, how are you going to address it?
I am in a season of procrastination.  Truthfully, procrastination is part of my nature but this season, the last 3 or so months, I have ramped it up to a new level.  I don’t procrastinate about everything.  I have been quick to respond and take care of the things I do for family and at work.  But when it comes to taking care of me and my stuff, I have been wearing the blinders of avoidance 24/7.  

This weekend, I was in my car quite a bit.  That gave me time to listen to The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up.  I have resisted this book but it was a free audio download so I put it in my library.  And then I avoided listening to it.  But in a very short time, I knew I needed to hear what this author was saying.  Tidying up, decluttering, sorting and tossing.  These things have been much on my mind.  I have too much stuff that does not meet the “sparks joy” criteria.  There are bags here and there that just need to go to the donation store.  There are too many piles that just keep getting moved around.  I have a lot of extra space for this in my home, and while I know that many people complain of not enough space, it makes actually dealing with those piles harder – out of sight, out of mind.  But not really out of mind.  Knowing that that stuff is there weighs heavily.  And it becomes an excuse – oh I can’t do that until I deal with this.  Sigh.

I am one day away from a four day weekend.  There are a few commitments on my calendar but I also think there is time to make a dent in those piles.  And starting with my clothes is the perfect beginning.  So that is it.  I am tackling my closet and my drawers this weekend.  Let the tidying up begin.

