Fiber Friday – stitch stories


I picked this book up at the library a few weeks ago and briefly paged through it.  This morning, I settled in on the couch (up far too early again) and gave it a read.  I do love the idea of using fabric and thread to record memories and made a list of ideas to try before I return the book.  

I did a search to find out more about the author and found some good articles about stitch artists.  And I spent a bit of time catching up with this beautiful blog.  But now it is time to move into this day and hope for some stitching time this weekend.

P.S.  it is a few weeks away but you might want to visit Michelle and read about her upcoming workshop.  Another way to stitch up some memories and stories with paper and pen.

Yarnalong – revisiting


I don’t often reread books but this author is an exception.  I have read and reread each of his books.  And then I sometimes listen to the audio version.  I first read Being Mortal in 2014 and began recommending it to everyone.  Recently, our family has been faced with helping dad make some next step decisions.  I kept thinking back to this book, finding guidance in Gwande’s research and stories.  Over the weekend, I downloaded the audio book and have been soaking up his wisdom.

My knitting is also a re-do.  I knit this little hat for our tiny person but it was a bit short and I knew it would not last long.  So last night I pulled out the top section and added a few more inches.  The yarn is very soft and the colors actually match his quilt – not planned.  It is a simple knit3 pearl1 pattern and was a quick fix.  I have been working on my Annabel and have made good progress on the body.  Just the kind of back and forth knitting my brain needs right now.

Happy Wednesday.  I am looking forward to our first book group meeting tonight.  We will be reading and discussions Scouting the Divine over the next few weeks.  Another book I have now read twice.  Hmmm?

Sharing with Ginny and Frontier Dreams today.