Classic books


The Think Write Thursday topic for April 6, 2017 is to tell us about a book you wish you could read again for the first time. Happy writing. Carole and Kat

When I read this prompt, two book titles popped into my head.  When our girls were in elementary school, they participated in a book group during recess.  I was one of the leaders.  I would read the books and then meet with the other leaders to come up with discussion questions. (A side note:  the kids ate lunch during these discussion sessions and it was looking at the cafeteria tray food that made me rethink the idea that the girls should eat a school lunch once a week – yuck!)

I have re-read The Bridge to Terabithia a few times over the years and I still love this story.  What I remember about Afternoon of the Elves is that almost every student wished for a sequel.  They did not want this story to end.  Reading those books alongside those students was a highlight.

If I think back a bit further, I would probably choose The Hundred Dresses.  That was a story that I fell into.  I wanted to be friends with Wanda, to spend an afternoon with her, drawing pictures of dresses.

Now that we have a tiny person in our lives, I know there will be good books coming into our lives.  What joy!  What treasures!

