Unraveled Wednesday


Sometimes you just have to start again. I actually knit this hat during the first week of my trip. But when I brought it home and gave it a nice bath, I realized that the edge was too floppy. I love the pattern and the yarn so I decided to unravel and begin again.

My bingo card is about 50% full although I still do not have a bingo. I am just a square away on two rows. I took my Kindle on the trip and read a few books that have been waiting patiently. I am always surprised when I hit that sweet spot each summer where my brain isn't overfilled with work thoughts and my reading pace picks up.

Last weekend I finished my Aestlight shawl (another travel project). And I have made good progress on my half Hansel that I stared about two years ago.

I spent most of an afternoon creating a photo book from my trip. It was fun to group the pictures with space for journaling on the pages. I also left a few blank pages where I can add some of the bits and bobs that I acquired along the way. It will make the book a bit bulkier but that can be fun too.

Fun to be back to blogging. Thanks to Kat for hosting.

6 thoughts on “Unraveled Wednesday

  1. I usually grumble while I do it, but unraveling is quite pretty in its own way, especially to knit something better the second time around. Making your photo book soon after your return is a great idea. You’ll be able to enjoy and remember the trip so much better in the years to come.

  2. The unraveling will be worth it, in the end! 🙂 I love playing with my photos after a big trip; I’ll bet you’re having a great time re-living your adventures. I am one square away from a BIngo in FOUR different directions! It seems a mathematically impossible thing, but it’s true. One day, I’ll read finish one book and the entire thing will just collapse into bingo-after-bingo-after-bingo! XO

  3. Welcome back! Your trip sounds wonderful and so relaxing! Love the unraveled photo…I’ll look forward to seeing the reknit hat!
    Eager also to see your photo book…
    Cheers~

  4. Ooh, how do you like that Jamieson yarn? Is it rustic to the touch? I’m sorry you had to unravel your beanie. I had one that I had whipped up for a STITCHES West but after I had blocked it, the ribbing expanded. After having these issues with socks last year, I am now making mini swatches which have helped immensely. And then I had to change how I knitted them b/c I’m Portuguese knitting now instead of Continental.
    Glad you liked the Inkheart series. I liked the first book as it certainly was a tail like The Odyssey, but I don’t think I’ll continue on with it.

Leave a Reply

