Unraveled Wednesday


On our Shetland trip, we spent an afternoon dying sock blanks. I had heard about this and had seen a few people knitting g socks from hand dyed blanks but I really didn't have any idea hat the day would involve. Out teacher was Niela Nell, a wonderful and talented designer living on Shetland. It was a busy and action packed workshop. We each started with cream sock blank (a machine knit rectangle made from two balls of Jamieson's yarn). We mixed colors and began to paint our yarn. You can see how garish my blank looked when I finished (I had no idea what I was doing!). Then Niela's helpers cooked our yarn in the microwave and rinsed it in a large sink. It was a crazy to see how much color was seeping out. I was actually reli fed to see how much my yarn had softened in color. This afternoon, we unraveled our sock blanks (they were in our box of yarn that we had mailed home).
I have never knit socks but I think this is the perfect yarn for a first pair.
On the reading front, I finished another audio book and a Kindle book. Now that I am heading back to work, I will need to really work at getting some more squares completed on my bingo card but it has been a great motivator.
Thanks again to Mary for the book bingo fun and to Kat for our Wednesday Unraveled gatherings.

